The fourth of the Five Pillar of Islam is Sawm

The fourth of the Five Pillar of Islam is Sawm (fasting)
Muslims are required to fast during Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar.
During the twenty-nine out of thirty days of Ramadan all adult Muslims must give up the following things during the hours of daylight:
• Food or drink
• Smoking
Muslims who are physically or mentally unwell can be excused some of the pillars of Islam, as may those who are under twelve years old, the very old, those who are pregnant, breast-feeding, menstruating, or travelling.
If an adult does not fast for the reasons above they should try to make up the fast at a later date or make a donation to the poor instead (like Zakat).
Muslims do not just deprive themselves from physical things during Ramadan. They are also expected to do their best to avoid evil thoughts and deeds as well.
There are many good reasons for this fast, including:
• Obeying God
• Learning self-discipline
• Becoming spiritually stronger
• Appreciating God’s gifts to us
• Sharing the sufferings of the poor and developing sympathy for them
• Realising the value of charity and generosity
• Giving thanks for the Holy Qur’an, which was first revealed in the month of Ramadan
• Sharing fellowship with other Muslims
Eating in Ramadan
During Ramadan many Muslims will try to eat a large meal called suhur just before dawn.
When daylight is over, most Muslims will break or open the fast with dates or water, following the example of the Prophet Muhammad, before having a proper meal later.
The evening meals during Ramadan are occasions for family and community get-togethers.
Eid ul-Fitr
The month of Ramadan ends with the festival of Eid ul-Fitr. This is marked by dressing up and visiting the mosque for prayer, and with visits to family and friends for celebratory meals.
Ramadan and the Western calendar
Because Islam uses a lunar calendar, the month of Ramadan comes around 11 days earlier each successive year, so there is no Western season associated with Ramadan.